Asijiki – no turning back at 2018 Comrades Marathon

Around 21 000 runners contended in the 93rd Comrades Marathon from Pietermaritzburg to Moses Mabhida Stadium in Durban on 10 June 2018. The 90 kilometres route was controlled through six cut-off points. Drummond, a little over 44 kilometres into the ultimate race is the halfway point.

Supporters watched in admiration as correctional official Richard Mavuso of Kgoši Mampuru II was the first to cross the halfway mark. He achieved the lead in two hours, 41 minutes. Mavuso (40) is a seasoned athlete and he crossed the finish line in 66th place – a truly impressive feat.

The support from race spectators who rallied behind the man in the green and white departmental vest gave Mavuso the zest to endure until the end. In him hope was renewed that amongst our own, great sporting talent exists. If properly nurtured, officials’ latent talents can produce athletes that can compete on international stage.

Linda Hlophe, an Emergency Support Team member of Kgoši Mampuru II has been a fervent runner and his athletic abilities have inspired many ardent runners. Hlophe has had a significant hand in coaching marathon runners in his training programme at the Kgoši Mampuru club in recent years. Amongst his group of medal takers was Area Commissioner of Kgoši  Mampuru II Tlabo Thokolo who took his second Comrades medal in consecutive years home. Mocheta Monama, the acting Communications Coordinator of Gauteng region bagged his first medal after finishing the race ina little over ten hours.

Senior Correctional Official Vitalis Poli of Johannesburg proudly took home his 29th  Comrades medal. Female participation has increased gradually in recent years. Altogether, 11 female officials earned proud Comrades finishes this year.

The department clocked 287 entries into the 2018 race but only 244 completed the gruelling downhill stretch.

Top DCS achievers

Males Region Finishing Time
Richard Motsamai Mavuso Gauteng 6:27:29
Xolani Dan Cele KwaZulu-Natal 7:35:13
Philemon Delani Zuma KwaZulu-Natal 7:40:11
Msindo Nicholas KwaZulu-Natal 7:50:04
Nhlanhla Kein Magubane Gauteng 8:01:54
Lubabalo Mtikitiki Western Cape 8:09:28
Joel Kutu Gauteng 8:12:36
Kosie Botha Western Cape 8:18:55
Mhlengi Makhoba KwaZulu-Natal 8:19:16
Kgatitle Samson Maimela Gauteng 8:20:51
Paulina Masi Sibiya Gauteng 10:32:50
Ntombi Eve Mchunu KwaZulu-Natal 10:52:18
Ngiyabonga Ndlela KwaZulu-Natal 11:15:41
Azwindini Phyllis Mudau Gauteng 11:19:50
Mahlatse Magabane Gauteng 11:33:59
Promise Sabelo KwaZulu-Natal 11:39:58
Gladness Winile Makhoba Gauteng 11:44:48
Maidi Kgokolo Gauteng 11:48:34
Ntokozo Gladness Ntusi KwaZulu-Natal 11:51:19
Paidi Mkhumbeni Gauteng 11:52:38
Madillo Joyce Selepe Gauteng 11:57:20


WordPress Lightbox