

Let's Communicate

INTERNAL NOTICE TO ALL STAFF

27 Tune 2016



Minister Michael Masutha (middle) poses with the newly appointed members of the National Council on Correctional Services. On the Minister's right is the Chairperson of the NCCS Judge Lucy Mailula and on his left is one of the Vice chairpersons Judge Zamani Nhlangulela

Minister appoints new corrections council

Minister Michael Masutha welcomed the newly appointed members of the National Council for Correctional Services on 20 June 2016 at Kgoši II Mampuru Management Area.

inister Masutha has appointed 19 members for this council to serve the department for three years that started on 1 June 2016. In his remarks the Minister said the council should reflect on the department's

institutional arrangement to see if it is truly ideal in driving transformation. "There is nothing as refreshing as change, especially if it is change for the better," he said. The NCCS has the primary obligation to

advise the Minister in developing policy

relating to the correctional system and the sentencing process. The members are strategically placed to observe and use their expertise to make recommendations. The council is also the Correctional Supervision and Parole Review Board (CSPRB) that reviews Correctional Supervision and Parole Board (CSPB) decisions

The first day of the orientation session included a tour of the Kgoši Mampuru correctional centres. It familiarised the members with everyday procedures in correctional centres, such as receiving new arrivals from the courts, the work of the Case Management Committees and parole board proceedings.

Inspecting Judge Johann van der Westhuizen and Professor Alpheus Segone, Chairperson of the Medical Parole Advisory Board were also present. Minister Masutha encouraged constant interaction between these independent entities. He said their different areas of expertise should pull together and guide the department.

The NCCS is led by three judges in the high court, Judge Mogadi Lucy Mailula (Chairperson), Judge Esther Johanna Sophia Steyn (Vice chairperson) and Judge Zamani Nhlangulela (Vice chairperson).

